Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

Just Like Watching Last Of The Summer Wine

with 3 comments

So Kevin Pietersen is tired. Well Kevin, I’m tired too. Tired of watching the same game of cricket over and over again.

Watching England’s one day side over the last fifteen years or so is like watching Last of the Summer Wine. The cast changes, but the plot remains stolidly the same. It’s just three old men in a bath going slowly downhill.

I’m tired of the constant look of bewilderment on Andrew Strauss’ face. He opens the batting with a Clegg-like dynamism.  But he has my sympathy. His first tour has been a particularly trying one what with the tribuations of referrals, flat pitches, declarations and Steve Harmison. Strauss is the man to lead England into the Ashes series this summer, but someone should give him this little suggestion: at least pretend to look like you know what you’re doing.

And then Bopara. Compo. The iconoclast. Actually scrub that. I’m getting tired of this analogy. But not as tired as I am of England’s one-day performances. Even when they contrive to win it’s dull.

The reason I mention the openers is because they set the tone for the rest of the innings and, when they bat first, the bowlers. It’s like some wonky version of collective responsibility: if one of the team underperforms, then we’re all allowed to underperform.

Ultimately I’m tired of ranting. Every time I look in the mirror I look a little bit more like Bob Willis. And I’m tired because I wasted my Friday night watching this familiar drivel. When I could have been out. Or in. Probably in actually.

Written by harrisharrison

March 28, 2009 at 8:43 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would say let’s get some different players in, but as everyone except the ECB can see, it has been this way for 15 years. Therefore, I have no suggestion except “let’s get some more administrators, players, counties, clubs, coaches and competitions in”. There, that should do it.

    GoodCricketWicket

    March 29, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    • I haven’t quite got around creating my blueprint for the future of English cricket: but I’m sure the ECB will be interested when I do.

      harrisharrison

      March 29, 2009 at 6:22 pm

  2. As a Leicester boy myself I really hope Luke Wright fulfills his potential. Remember playing him the county trials as he used to twat everything and just bowl at people’s throats for fun.

    He is a real exciting prospect though and his bat speed is rapid. Maybe that will wake you up from your one day slumber.

    Not sure if staying awake throughout the middle of the night is as good a prospect as the Ashes was.

    World Cricket Watch

    September 1, 2009 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

