Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

I Told You He Was Too Old

leave a comment »

I said that Tom Watson was too old to win the Open in my last post. I was right. Just.

After 71 holes I was drafting something, possibly hyperbolic, about the greatest achievement in the history of sport. I was also indulging in a vivid daydream about Watson reading my post and using it as the inspiration for an unlikely triumph by printing it off and blue-tacking it to his locker. Yes, I know that is absurd, but maybe he is a fan of the Ashes and hates Peter Siddle too.

But unfortunately halfway through the 72nd hole he began to look his age. He is the same age is my dad, and started to play like him too. My old man is quite good at golf, but you need to be more than quite good at golf to par the last at Turnberry to win the Open.

Stewart Cink will now always be the man who Tom Watson lost to at the Open, but he probably doesn’t care. He’ll also go down as the only golfer to win a major whose head looks like the plastic inner bit of a Kinder Egg. Put some fake tan on your bonce mate.

Written by harrisharrison

July 19, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

