Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

This Is England

with 4 comments

At tea I was composing a piece about Ian Bell reaching his century and me sitting at the bottom of my shower, vigorously scrubbing with a nailbrush to cleanse myself of the egg on my face. I am a presumptious idiot.

It seems vaguely churlish to berate Bell having top scored with 72, but in the context of the match and the pitch it wasn’t enough. And yet again he got himself out when his team needed him most.

Both sides have had a strangely schizophrenic series in terms of their quality, but it seems that both have had a sharp dose of electro-convulsive therapy and found their true selves. Unfortunately in the case of England, that means a bit shit.

But they have three times the amount of runs they scored in the first innings at Headingley and only in my worst nightmares can they bowl as badly.

They have to improve. I’m going to be there tomorrow. Egging them on.

Written by harrisharrison

August 20, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Posted in Cricket

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would imagine that was some enjoyable egging.

    The Dawg

    August 22, 2009 at 7:27 am

    • Best egging ever. And I don’t even like eggs.

      harrisharrison

      August 22, 2009 at 8:36 am

  2. Not a huge fan of bellend myself, one of the most frustrating english batsman. I can’t figure out if he is alvin, simon or theodore. Sherminator will do.

    Dave

    World Cricket Watch

    August 22, 2009 at 4:31 pm

  3. If the egg conversation were to continue, and lets pray it doesn’t, we would reach the inevitable point where somebody felt forced to write eggcellent, perhaps with an alternative spelling. But fuck all that, we’ve won the ashes. Hurrah…

    The Dawg

    August 23, 2009 at 8:44 pm


Leave a Reply

