Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

The Fake World Cup Draw

with 3 comments

You can almost guarantee that during the proceedings at the World Cup draw on Friday is that the commentator will make some reference to the results of a run-through that would have taken place some time earlier in the week. I am comforted by these little parallels that exist from ceremony to ceremony and will be sorely discomforted should this particular idiosyncrasy be overlooked for any reason.

So in order to protect myself I decided to conduct my own mock draw to provide plenty of material for the commentary that normally plays out inside my head on these occasions. I asked my girlfriend if she’d like to fill in for Charlize Theron, who’ll be guest presenting on Friday, but she was too busy watching Gossip Girl (and possibly working out a way to dump me gently). For the sake of authenticity I printed off the pdf. explaining the full procedure of the draw from the FIFA website. I confess that I was not able to source any giant balls so I improvised using scraps of the Evening Standard.

In case you are interested, which you almost certainly are not, here is the draw:

A. South Africa, Mexico, Chile, Switzerland

B. England, Australia, Ghana, Greece

C. Spain, North Korea, Nigeria, Slovakia

D. Brazil, South Korea, Algeria, France

E. Netherlands, Honduras, Paraguay, Slovenia

F. Italy, New Zealand, Ivory Coast, Serbia

G. Argentina, Japan, Cameroon, Portugal

H. Germany, USA, Uruguay, Denmark

So there it is. It’s a good draw for Fabio Capello’s men which presents a decent chance of reaching the quarter-finals. I’m particularly looking forward to the clash against our old foe.

I’m really sorry. I’m not well. I need help.

Written by harrisharrison

December 2, 2009 at 8:47 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s ‘Group Of Death’.

    Mind you Colombia didn’t qualify.

    twentington

    December 2, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  2. Sorry I mean there is NO Group of Death.

    twentington

    December 2, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  3. You’re right. I’ll have to do it again tonight.

    harrisharrison

    December 3, 2009 at 12:30 pm


Leave a Reply

