Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

Blanket Coverage

with 3 comments

 

Duminy: chilling with his blankie

Jean-Paul Duminy doesn’t appear to have many weaknesses as a batter. He’s what commentators describe as ‘organised’ or ‘uncomplicated’. England have tried the short ball. Which as a tactic is about as obvious as pointing and shouting ‘look over there’ just before you’re going to bowl.

But here’s something that Strauss and his bowlers may want to take heed of: Duminy has a security blanket. In his own words:

“I have a favourite blanket that I have kept with me since I was two years old. It is something special, something I feel very comfortable with. I need to feel it between my fingers when I’m in bed back home.”

So this isn’t some casual relationship he has with his blanket, it’s a deep-rooted dependence.

Steal it.

Written by harrisharrison

December 17, 2009 at 9:34 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As someone who had and loved a security blanket until well into my teens, I think one should not mock this behaviour. Wa-hey better than a dependancy to class A drugs for example. Motto for the day ‘there is much strength in admitting our weaknesses’.

    Becca Harrison

    December 17, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    • I’m not mocking it. Just saying we should nick it.

      harrisharrison

      December 17, 2009 at 4:45 pm

  2. Er…..remember Busby …et al?

    Tom

    December 20, 2009 at 3:15 pm


Leave a Reply

