Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

Winter of Discontent

with 5 comments

My disaffection towards the Winter Olympics is concerning me to such an extent that I’ve started shutting my head in the fridge door in order to jumpstart some enthusiasm for the chilly festivities in Vancouver. These extreme lengths are purely a product of pragmatism; the Winter Games will dominate the television schedules – there may be little else to watch. It’s the same cultural flaccidity that makes me wish I was a fan of horse-racing and Emmerdale, such is their ubiquity in the TV listings.

I was certainly more avid about the Games when I was a child. Perhaps because I was more excitable about everything: doing the hokey-cokey, fish fingers, mud.

But my apathy may have also been conditioned by circumstance. Ski Sunday was essential because it was an oasis in the Sunday evening desert that contained Songs of Praise and Antiques Roadshow. Plus it started with that thundering theme music. A DJ friend of mine bought it once on vinyl. I’ve never seen a club go off more euphorically than when he played it. Now it’s been relegated to the murkier corners of the schedules it’s now more Ski Early Hours of Monday.

Ice hockey was always a highlight of the Games for me, probably because it was the sport most like football and it had the added attraction of seemingly encouraging it’s participants to engage in the kind of fisticuffs that would make the Mitchell brothers blanch. It seems to have mellowed a touch with age on the evidence of the competition in the last Games in Turin. Added to which my failing eyesight dictates that for long stretches of the action the puck is just an abstract entity, only making itself known when it is parked into the back of the net.

Ice skating may be considered the blue riband event of the Winter Olympics, but I defy any entrant in Vancouver to produce something that is as entertaining as this:

Written by harrisharrison

February 3, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Posted in Cricket

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] ========================= We are not claiming to be the original source of this post, some links might be automatically be removed, so see the original story at: cricket « WordPress.com Tag Feed […]

  2. Writing from Australia, a country not entirely famous for its snow sports, I can fairly say that the Winter Olympics should be banned.

    Tony

    February 4, 2010 at 1:28 am

  3. What about the first time we played Bronski Beat’s Smalltown Boy? I’ve never seen a club go off like that. I suppose it’s got no relevance to the winter olympics though.

    And, for what it’s worth I think the Men’s Downhill is the blue riband event of the winter olympics

    Bonald Mead

    February 4, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    • I agree. But I was late for meeting Nic at Wagamamamamoo so I had to finish this one up quickly. There’s a reason I’m not a professional journalist.

      harrisharrison

      February 4, 2010 at 12:45 pm

  4. If you were a professional you’d have a sub-editor.

    Clementine

    February 4, 2010 at 6:16 pm


Leave a Reply

