Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

Eggnog

with 3 comments

My mum wanted to call me Eoin when I was born, after an ancient uncle. My dad vetoed the choice citing it’s overt and belligerent Irishness.

Until now I have not regretted his decision, estimating that such a random bag of vowels could only consign me to a lifetime of correcting mispronunciations. No-one wants to be called Ian unless they really have to be (unless you’re mistaken for Ian McShane). Or Eon. Or for that matter e-i-e-i-o.

But since England unearthed the freaky-wristed little emerald that is Eoin Morgan I can’t help feeling a tiny pang of remorse.

What’s your name?

Eoin.

How do you spell that?

e.o.i.n

As in Eoin Morgan, the first man to score a ODI century for two different countries?

That’s right.

Cool.

Written by harrisharrison

March 2, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Posted in Cricket

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nothing to do with any anti- Irish sentiment..I thought it was spelt Owen which would have saddled you with the annoying acronym NOB.

    tom

    March 4, 2010 at 2:58 pm

  2. What was wrong with NBO? Would have had the added bonus of making me sound like a boxing champion.

    harrisharrison

    March 4, 2010 at 4:00 pm

  3. This has abslolutely nothing to do with cricket but my mother wanted to call me Gay, my father vetoed it. I could have spent my whole life saying, ‘Hi, I’m gay’ and i’ve always wondered whether i would have been gay just to make things easier.

    letterfromafriend

    March 4, 2010 at 5:04 pm


Leave a Reply

