Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

I Dream Of Ritzy

with 2 comments

I don’t normally feel the necessity to relate the dreams I’ve had. Being so personal it’s the ultimate ‘you had to be there’ anecdote. But this weekend I’ve experienced such a bewildering succession of cricket-themed dreams I’m compelled to share. Each one is more surreal in its narrative construct than the last.

Firstly I dreamt I was Kevin Pietersen. I do this quite regularly. Usually I’m playing cricket. This time I was being introduced to the world as the sixth member of fresh-faced new boyband One Direction. I was explaining to the attendant press that I had been recruited to be the vital “cool, older one” in the line-up.

Then I was Stuart Broad. This happens less frequently. I had returned to England following my stomach injury and I was forlornly trying to recreate the Ashes in the street outside my house. My team-mates and opponents were recruited from local youngsters. The series was curtailed by irate neighbour with a ginger moustache who complained that we’d smashed one of his windows.

Finally I dreamt that Nathan Hauritz held a garage sale to flog some of his old Australian jumpers. Actually I was awake when I was dreaming this. And I wasn’t dreaming it, I was reading it across the rolling bar on Sky Sports News.

Whatever the motivation was for Hauritz to pursue this enterprise, it is odd for a professional sportsman to involve himself in something that is usually the preserve of pre-pubescent Blue Peter viewers. It’s been reported that Hauritz organised the sale as a final act of defiance against an unthinking selection policy, the last symbolic protest of a discarded manchild. If this so, then t’s tragic. If I had have dreamt it, there would have been tears on my pillow.

Tonight’s dream: Shane Warne and Liz Hurley.

 

Written by harrisharrison

December 13, 2010 at 9:07 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I don’t normally feel the necessity to relate the dreams I’ve had”. Really? The Pikachu one and the one where you had to run the Grand National in pink silks without a horse immediately spring to mind.

    Wutts

    December 13, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    • And the one when I called Thierry Henry a “sanctimonious little shit” because he wouldn’t play five-a-side in skins.

      harrisharrison

      December 13, 2010 at 11:26 pm


Leave a Reply

