Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

Whoops

leave a comment »

This is what I wrote on Wednesday night:

England need a hero tomorrow. It’s almost certainly not going to be James Tredwell.

This sentence encapsulates everything you need to know about why I am sitting here on a sofa with a laptop gently microwaving my balls and not over in Chennai or Bangalore or wherever bringing insightful and enlightened commentary live from the action. I’d like to justify it as an exercise in fate-temptation but it’s not true.

I hope I wasn’t the only one floored by the England’s team selection against the West Indies. I’d assumed that the management had forgotten who Tredwell was. I thought that Tredwell himself had forgotten who he was. Together with the inclusion of Luke Wright and Chris Tremlett it felt like the management had already banked on England’s exit from the tournament and were just giving some of the other boys a go. It’s a concept I’m very familiar with from my school days. In fact it turned out to be a provident choice, as Tredwell and Wright performed like players unfettered by the previous one-day tribulations.

England are going to win the World Cup. Oh hang on, England are almost certainly not going to win the World Cup.

 

 

 

Written by harrisharrison

March 19, 2011 at 10:45 am

Leave a Reply

