Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

Score!

with 6 comments

I bowled two overs yesterday. I conceded 37 runs. My team lost by two runs. It has led me to appraise my skills as a cricketer, assess my strengths and weaknesses.

My weaknesses as a bowler is probably my bowling. My bowling is quite weak. I’m not great at fielding either.

Among my strengths is the fact that I am not bad in the clubhouse. When batting, I am pretty good at the leave. The leave is my best shot. I’m better at not hitting the ball than hitting it. I am also very good at under-arming the ball to the bowler when standing at mid-on. I am so accurate that often the bowler doesn’t even need to break stride as he walks back to his mark.

My genuine skill in the game is scoring. I am very handy with a pencil in my hands. I know when to erase and not to erase. I can count to six.

Which is why I love the below clip of one of my brethren, Keith Booth, in action at in the score box at the Oval. Action is probably the wrong word. There is a long section at the end in which the most interesting thing to happen is Keith clearing his throat. My favourite quote is when Keith explains that his Tipp-ex is the second most important tool of his trade, behind only his laptop. Obviously no-one has shown him where the delete button is.

Written by harrisharrison

July 11, 2011 at 8:13 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re over-rating your club-house skills. I’m pleased he wears his whites, a true pro, like Martin O’Neill weaing his shin pads in the dug-out.

    Wutts

    July 11, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    • You might be right. I’m mediocre in the clubhouse.

      harrisharrison

      July 11, 2011 at 8:28 pm

  2. “This is a laptop computer”….

    “this is a television set, equipped with all the major channels. We don’t use it.”

    Bonald

    July 12, 2011 at 7:34 am

  3. I think you are the best in every possible way . I also think you are better at cricket than you state……shame you came up against Robbie with his eye well and truly in by the the time you were given a bowl! CSH of Horseheath

    Tom

    July 12, 2011 at 7:56 am

  4. ‘I was trying to be so discreet!’ (says Mum). Shame Mum wouldn’t know discretion even if it came along and indiscreetly bit her on her backside. Suppose it could have been Clive H Smith of Audley Way using Dad’s log-in.

    Clem

    July 26, 2011 at 8:50 pm


Leave a Reply

