Harris Sportsthoughts

Thoughts about Sport

Oh Danny Boyle

with 3 comments

I have been invited to audition for a performing role in the opening and closing ceremonies of the 2012 Olympic Games. I am delighted to be considered, if vaguely confused. I haven’t technically “performed” in front of an audience since the age of nine. Perhaps director Danny Boyle is aware of my work in that period, which comprised two seminal turns in the local village college‘s “Day of Dance”, a Terpsichorean jamboree of all children from neighbouring primary schools.

Firstly, a jaunty and enthusiastic interpretation of a gypsy fiddler, undermined only by my colleague David‘s decision to take to the stage wearing socks and thus spent most of the show on his bum, like a slightly disabled gypsy fiddler. I followed this up the next year with an impressively haunting representation of a moon-dwelling extra-terrestrial, transforming myself with a pair of thick brown tights over my head and a brown woollen jumper.  It was a portrayal so terrifyingly spot on I nearly got the gig bursting out of John Hurt‘s chest in Ridley Scott‘s Alien.

Given this previous exhibitionism, Boyle has clearly assumed that I won’t balk at the opportunity to slip into a turquoise leotard and pretend to be the River Thames through the medium of prancing about a bit.

Or I’m just on a mailing list having previously expressed my interest at volunteering at the Games. Either way I’ve applied. You should too, just click here.

Written by harrisharrison

August 21, 2011 at 8:48 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “And here come the night elves”

    Wutts

    August 21, 2011 at 9:02 am

  2. Oh to be a night elf.

    harrisharrison

    August 21, 2011 at 9:10 am

  3. Skindog millionaire ?

    Tom

    August 21, 2011 at 8:25 pm


Leave a Reply

